dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Moderator: MVogt

Antworten
aedwards
Beiträge: 10
Registriert: 11. Okt 2010, 11:13
Kontaktdaten:

dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Beitrag von aedwards » 27. Jun 2011, 12:15

Hi,
I`ll try to explain the problem as best I can:
We just updated our V12 Matrix server to V14.
On our PC`s we have the start order defined as 1. Lan, 2. HD, etc...
Before the update a PC was switched on and it looked for a DHCP server
DHCP........ within a few seconds the Matrix server responded with a message like" Configured by emperium...IP XXXXXX...etc". The PC then started form the HD and all was fine.

Sine the update this doesnt happen. The DHCP polling starts: DHCP................................................. continues until a timeout and then th PC boots from the HD. This can take several minutes unless we stop it by pressing the ESC key.

So my question is: What service or whatever needs to be configured so it works right again?

Thanks in advance.

Benutzeravatar
thahn
Beiträge: 486
Registriert: 03. Jan 2007, 09:03
Wohnort: KR - NRW
Kontaktdaten:

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Beitrag von thahn » 27. Jun 2011, 12:46

hi,

after the update , you reinstall all Empirum-Services ?
if possible the PXE-server runs in the wrong Mode ?

your can use the sysinternal tool debugview to track the Communication of the pxe service with database.

cYa
Thomas Hahn
Technical Account Manager

Matrix42 AG

Email: thomas.hahn[at]matrix42.com
http://www.matrix42.de
Skype: thahn42
ICQ: IO25IGO8

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of matrix42 AG.

aedwards
Beiträge: 10
Registriert: 11. Okt 2010, 11:13
Kontaktdaten:

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Beitrag von aedwards » 27. Jun 2011, 13:22

Hi and thanks for the reply.

Yes the services were reinstalled after the update.

The PXE service is currently running in: PXE/DHCP mode.

I`ll try to log the communication.

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7507
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 27. Jun 2011, 22:40

Are you sure you want to run the service in PXE/DHCP mode?
That means you have NO DHCP-server in your environment => Empirum will only answer to client where you entered a static IP address and will provice the dhcp lease as well.
Is that true?
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Antworten

Zurück zu „Software Management“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast