Seite 1 von 1

dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Verfasst: 27. Jun 2011, 12:15
von aedwards
Hi,
I`ll try to explain the problem as best I can:
We just updated our V12 Matrix server to V14.
On our PC`s we have the start order defined as 1. Lan, 2. HD, etc...
Before the update a PC was switched on and it looked for a DHCP server
DHCP........ within a few seconds the Matrix server responded with a message like" Configured by emperium...IP XXXXXX...etc". The PC then started form the HD and all was fine.

Sine the update this doesnt happen. The DHCP polling starts: DHCP................................................. continues until a timeout and then th PC boots from the HD. This can take several minutes unless we stop it by pressing the ESC key.

So my question is: What service or whatever needs to be configured so it works right again?

Thanks in advance.

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Verfasst: 27. Jun 2011, 12:46
von thahn
hi,

after the update , you reinstall all Empirum-Services ?
if possible the PXE-server runs in the wrong Mode ?

your can use the sysinternal tool debugview to track the Communication of the pxe service with database.

cYa

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Verfasst: 27. Jun 2011, 13:22
von aedwards
Hi and thanks for the reply.

Yes the services were reinstalled after the update.

The PXE service is currently running in: PXE/DHCP mode.

I`ll try to log the communication.

Re: dhcp after update from V12 to V14

Verfasst: 27. Jun 2011, 22:40
von Hendrik_Ambrosius
Are you sure you want to run the service in PXE/DHCP mode?
That means you have NO DHCP-server in your environment => Empirum will only answer to client where you entered a static IP address and will provice the dhcp lease as well.
Is that true?