PXE/DHCP Problems

Moderator: jknoth

Antworten
Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 25. Jun 2012, 15:09

Hi

We have an Empirum server that also has local Windows DHCP.

All was working fine until a few months ago, the server was upgraded by our Head Office with the latest version of Empirum.

I am now in a situation where occaisonaly a Dell laptop will PXE boot and work, the majority of the time it fails with the following error's:-

PXE-E51: NoDHCP or proxyDHCP offers were received
PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel boot agent

I have no VLAN's and DHCP appears to work fine for PC's in Windows.
Test laptop and Empirum server plugged into same physical switch and no special switch config.
Laptio is one previously built with Empirum so I know it works. MAC address correct in Empirum and set to re-install O/S.

Where do I go from here? How do I test this and disgnose the cause?

Any suggestions, advice appreciated.

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 25. Jun 2012, 15:27

Set the PXE-service to compatibility mode (via DButil) and add the value "PXEServer" to DHCP option 60.
That should do the job.
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 25. Jun 2012, 16:05

Hendrik_Ambrosius hat geschrieben:Set the PXE-service to compatibility mode (via DButil) and add the value "PXEServer" to DHCP option 60.
That should do the job.
Hi

I will try the DHCP option.
Do I also need to set DHCP option 043?

Where do I find the DBUtil? (Its a server sync's to a main server in Austria if that helps)

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 25. Jun 2012, 18:05

Option 43: No.
empirum\empirum dbutil\empirum dbutil.exe
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 26. Jun 2012, 12:00

Sorry, I still can not find the utility.
I have even done a search on the whole of C: and D: including hidden and system folders.

Could it be because its not a 'master' server but a local depot server?

In c:\Program Files (x86)\Empirum\ I only have a Empsync folder and a Subdepot folder.
In d:\Empirum\ I have Backup, Configurator, EmpInst, EmpInv and ERBackup folders.

Looking on the server it shows 'Empirum SubDepot 14.2.0' installed.

Thanks

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 26. Jun 2012, 14:27

Yes, you can only do this from a master server.
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 26. Jun 2012, 15:05

I have to assume the PXE server setting is correct globally then as we have over 20 depot servers around the world and it wouldn't work for any of them.....

Do you have any suggestions on how I can test PXE and narrow down the cause of my issue?
Is their any logs I can view on the Server to see if DHCP or PXE is getting requests?

It is very frustrating at the moment :(

Phadda
Beiträge: 654
Registriert: 18. Jun 2009, 14:53
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Phadda » 26. Jun 2012, 16:04

BTW small docu information ...
Take a look at "Empirum v14 Ports" PDF. Last page is displayed which IP ports are needed for which service ;-)

Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 26. Jun 2012, 16:15

Phadda hat geschrieben:BTW small docu information ...
Take a look at "Empirum v14 Ports" PDF. Last page is displayed which IP ports are needed for which service ;-)
Do you have a link as I find this site very difficult to navigate in German :(

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 26. Jun 2012, 16:16

No, not globally - each PXE server can have different settings.
To monitor the PXE service use DebugView.
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 26. Jun 2012, 16:19

Why German? The documentation is available in English!
http://helpfiles.matrix42-web.de/v14_EN ... ion_EN.htm
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Phadda
Beiträge: 654
Registriert: 18. Jun 2009, 14:53
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Phadda » 27. Jun 2012, 07:49

And search for "PXE Server in Routed Environments" ...

Blue407
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: 21. Jun 2011, 16:15
Kontaktdaten:

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Blue407 » 28. Jun 2012, 17:39

HI Guys

I'm still troubleshooting.

I found the dhcp_setup fil on the server:-

[General]
Id=6
Serverip=157.247.229.94
Portname=bootps
Updatetime=60000
Servermode=1
default_boot=2
default_dns=157.247.51.21
default_netmask=255.255.255.0
default_gateway=157.247.229.1
first_boot=0
Proxyportname=bootpr
pxeimagesdir=\\UKHARAS505\EmpInst$\Wizard\Image\PXEImages
listenportname=pxelisten
[Dhcp_pxesp_image_settings]
id=1
pxe_sp_escoptions=1
pxe_sp_esctimeout=5
pxe_sp_esckey=113
pxe_sp_menuoption=7
pxe_sp_menutimeout=0
pxe_sp_autoselfprov=0


Don't know if that helps to confirm our config?

I spoke to one of our Senior guys at Head Office and he said he checked it was in compatibility mode as both DHCP and PXE on same server.

Could somebody please confirm for me what DHCP scope options I should have set for PXE boot with Empirum?

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: PXE/DHCP Problems

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 01. Jul 2012, 20:37

Again: Just option 60 to "PXEServer".
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Antworten

Zurück zu „OS-Installer“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast