Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Antworten
afl053
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: 30. Okt 2014, 11:58
Kontaktdaten:

Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von afl053 » 10. Nov 2014, 13:16

Hello,

We are new to empirum and want to use the Device Discovery to fill in the existing devices into empirum.
We also want to use the wmi possibility's to have at least some basic onformation about the discovered items, like the computer type, Manufacturer, model and serial number.

The thing is that i don't know how the query must be formatted. The documentation is very poor and all other information, as far as i can find, is in German which is difficult to follow using Google translate.

I have the following wmi queries which run perfectly from powershell. How must i enter this in the discovery so that the outcome is entered in Empirum ?

The variable $Data.Name contains the name of the computer.

# Query Mac Address and IP Address of computer, filter on IP Enabed = true and Default gateway is set (in case of multiple nics)
Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -Computer $Data.Name -ErrorAction Stop | where { ($_.IpEnabled -Match "True") -and ($_.DefaultIPGateway -ne $null) } | Select IPAddress,MACAddress

# Get Computer Manufacturer and Model
Get-WmiObject -Class win32_computersystem -Computer $Data.Name | select Manufacturer,Model

# Get Serial number
Get-WmiObject -Class win32_bios -Computer $Data.Name | Select SerialNumber

I allready tried to use the following to enter in the discovery tabs in empirum:

- Select Manufacturer,Model from win32_computersystem
- Select SerialNumber from win32_bios

But the corresponding fields aren't filled in. What else must i do ?

Benutzeravatar
r.wiegel
Beiträge: 834
Registriert: 05. Feb 2010, 13:45
Wohnort: Regensburg
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von r.wiegel » 10. Nov 2014, 22:19

Hello,

EMC\Administration\Filter "Assigned Computers" with right mouse button "Export to File"
Export Profile Properties\New
select Tables\Computer\Computername
select Tables\Computer\IP-Adress
select Tables\Computer\MAC-Adress
select Tables\WMI-Bios\SerialNumber
select Tables\WMI-Computersystem\Manufacturer
select Tables\WMI-Computersystem\Model

export to CSV-File.
Viele Grüße
Roman Wiegel
IT-Consultant

MR Datentechnik - Vertriebs- und Service GmbH
Client Management

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 11. Nov 2014, 15:09

Device Discovery should be used to scan misc devices like routers, printers, ...
For PC you should use the standard inventory scan (e.g. by running invscan_xml.bat).
You will get way more data without the WMI hassle.
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

afl053
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: 30. Okt 2014, 11:58
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von afl053 » 25. Nov 2014, 10:28

As i am new to Empirum, how do i run the .bat file ?
Does it need to have an input file ? or does it scan an given ip range ?

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 25. Nov 2014, 16:06

Just start this batchfile on the client (e.g. via login script / GPO):
\\<your matrix42 server>\configurator$\user\invscan_xml.bat

No additional configuration required (optional).
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

afl053
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: 30. Okt 2014, 11:58
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von afl053 » 26. Nov 2014, 10:15

Wow, this works great and really fast ... thanks for the help.

afl053
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: 30. Okt 2014, 11:58
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von afl053 » 02. Dez 2014, 09:24

I have now all my computers listed as not assigned, if i double click on them or request the properties i see all data filled in, so this is really good. How can i now get them available as assigned ?
If i do "new computer" i must enter the same data again, is there a way to automate this also ?

Benutzeravatar
Hendrik_Ambrosius
Moderator
Moderator
Beiträge: 7410
Registriert: 13. Dez 2004, 23:10
Wohnort: Adendorf/Lüneburg

Re: Usage of Device Discovery and inventory and WMI

Beitrag von Hendrik_Ambrosius » 02. Dez 2014, 10:16

Drag&drop the computers to a configuration group (middle pane) to assign them.

New computer: There is nothing like a template but you can import computers from a CSV file including values for custom fields if you like: http://helpfiles.matrix42-web.de/2014_E ... g%7C_____6
Hendrik Ambrosius / Senior Consultant
Mobile: +49 172 408 4447 | hendrik.ambrosius@matrix42.com
Matrix42 AG | Elbinger Straße 7 | 60487 Frankfurt am Main | Germany | www.matrix42.com

Disclaimer: I participate in this forum on a voluntary basis. Views expressed are not necessarily those of Matrix42 AG or of the support team.

Antworten

Zurück zu „Inventory“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast