Seite 1 von 1

SHAREDLL - not to be asked to delete

Verfasst: 12. Nov 2013, 15:19
von skdb
When packaging DLL / OCX files, I started to use the Copy command with the SHAREDLL option and understood the method behind it but found that when the count is 0 for the file when deleting / uninstalling the package, that the "This shared dll is no longer in use, would you like to delete this file?" is shown to the user (while logged in)...is this normal?

In the Help, it sounds like it is as per design -
"The destination file is entered in the registry as a shared file; a counter is advanced. The counter is reduced during uninstallation, and the file is suggested for deletion when the counter drops to 0."

Re: SHAREDLL - not to be asked to delete

Verfasst: 12. Nov 2013, 16:03
von Hendrik_Ambrosius
That message should not pop up if you use /S0 or /S2 as distribution options.
Please check what this is set to in the package properties.

Re: SHAREDLL - not to be asked to delete

Verfasst: 13. Nov 2013, 07:39
von skdb
Standard being used is /AW /S2
In Editor using no deployment parameters is same result.

Re: SHAREDLL - not to be asked to delete

Verfasst: 13. Nov 2013, 08:36
von Hendrik_Ambrosius
Try the package again on a PC where this package has never been installed before or delete the productkeys of that package from the registry and try again.
If the message still appears this is a bug and must be reported to our helpdesk for remediation.

BTW: If you do not provide parameters when running the script for the editor the message will appear. Also use /S2 /AW.

Re: SHAREDLL - not to be asked to delete

Verfasst: 14. Nov 2013, 09:17
von skdb
After several tests, it looks like you are right. Thank you. :D